Indiana University


Team Members

 Geoffrey C. Fox

Geoffrey C. Fox

Distinguished Scientist and Director

Ph.D. , Cambridge University (Theoretical Physics), 1967

Geoffrey Fox received a Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics from Cambridge University and is now professor of Informatics and Computing, and Physics at Indiana University where he is director of the Digital Science Center and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies at the School of Informatics and Computing.  He previously held positions at Caltech, Syracuse University and Florida State University. He has supervised the PhD of 62 students and published over 600 papers in physics and computer science. He currently works in applying computer science to Bioinformatics, Defense, Earthquake and Ice-sheet Science, Particle Physics and Chemical Informatics. He is principal investigator of FutureGrid – a new facility to enable development of new approaches to computing. He is involved in several projects to enhance the capabilities of Minority Serving Institutions. 

phone: 812-219-4643

email: gcf [at] indiana [dot] edu




Linda Bailey Hayden

Professor of Computer Science

Elizabeth City State University

Dr. Hayden holds a PhD in Mathematics and Education.  She is presently the Associate Dean of the School of Mathematics, Science and Technology at Elizabeth City State University, and the Director of the Center of Excellence in Remote Sensing Education and Research (CERSER). The CERSER program works in partnership with federal agencies, other universities and private corporations on research projects which include CReSIS (focusing on radar and seismic mapping of rapidly changing glacier zones in polar regions for impact on global warming and sea level change).  She is Principal Investigator on the NSF CyberInfrastructure from Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets project funded through the National Science Foundation Office of CyberInfrastructure CI-TEAM project.

email: haydenl [at] mindspring [dot] com